H.M.S. Pinafore 2009

July 11, 12, 2009

The weather for the weekend of the concerts was the most beautiful of the summer, with sunny, cloud doted skies, comfortably warm temperatures and no humidity.  In addition to the wonderful music, no doubt the beautiful weather contributed to the huge audiences present for both concerts.  During the Sunday performance, Jere Lantz announced to the audience that an estimated 4500 people had been in attendance for the two performances of H.M.S. Pinafore, and that this was a record audience for a Minneapolis Pops Orchestra Lake Harriet Bandshell concert.

The cast for this concert production of H.M.S. Pinafore included:

Sir Joseph Porter, K.C.B. James Ahrens
Captain Corcoran
Waldyn Benbenek
Ralph Rackstraw Eric Mellum
Dick Deadeye Bob Rynkiewicz
Bill Bobstay Tom Berg
Bob Becket John Orbison
Sarah Wind
Cousin Hebe
Sandra Schoenecker
Little Buttercup
Lara Trujillo

Women’s Chorus

Gretchen Amis, Katherine Azar, Mary Mescher Benbenek, Sophie Benbenek, Kirsten Bighia, Chelsea Bertsch, Marlene Doll, Karen Erickson, Megan Flod, Mary Gregory, Lesley Hendrickson, Shawn Holt, Holly MacDonald, Lisa Rawlins, Sue Ann Rawlins, Brianna Sullivan, Rhea Sullivan, Eryn Tvete, Jean Van Heel

Men’s Chorus

Peter Erickson, Jonathan Flory, Lee Fuchs, Stephen Hage, Dean Laurance, Christopher Michela, Jon Neuse, James Olson, Wendell Peck, David Rawlins, Steve Rawlins, Scott Sandberg, Scott Strand

Production Coordinators

Waldyn Benbenek and Dean Laurance

Dialog Adaptation

Leslie Hendrickson

Rehearsal Accompanist

Jean Van Heel


Waldyn Benbenek, Richard Rames, Holly Windle